Kent

21/3/2024

0.58/0.59

We put on the Mint (0.52) at the rugby club and started the day with a play in the weir. Brian showed us his hand surfing (I didn’t try that) and Mike showed us correct positioning to escape the hole (I did try that).

We moved on to a new section of river for me. I’d never paddled the Mint below there, or the Kent above Gooseholm weir. It was nice to finally link up the sections. 

After we portaged Gooseholm weir and paddled under the temporary pontoon bridge we all played on the many little waves through Kendal and tried out our spins.

Then we were on the standard lower section which had a nice amount of water in it. We enjoyed all the usual drops with inspections to familiarise all the team, where needed. No dramas and plenty of smiles, despite the cold and the rain.

Thanks Mike H, Mark G and Brian C for joining me.
Rachel Powell